
This has always been my weakest event. I remember some events where I had to do the backstroke to get through the swim. When I did the 1/2 Ironman it almost killed me. The one thing that I've learned over the last two years is that I have very poor technique. This year I've spend considerable amount of time trying to correct this. I've purchased the TI DVD and have begun to practice all the drills in each workout. In fact, sometimes I've just worked on the drills for the entire workout. I'm finally starting to see a difference. The one main component is the glide. I always use to start the catch to early in the stroke. Now, I really strive to drive my hand forward into the water just in front of my ear and rotate to the proper skating position. It's hard work learning to swim all over again but I'm hoping that it will payoff in the future. I'll never be a good swimmer but if I can be decent enough so that I don't have to spend 20 minutes on the bike getting my heartrate down, I think I'll be ahead of the game. I've checked some swim time for my age group (40-44) and noticed that range is somewhere in the 1:35 - 2:45/100m. My goal is to be in the middle around 2:00 - 2:10/100. I'd be quite happy with that.
Stay tuned... more to come.

No comments:
Post a Comment